by Heather Nentwig

I run a business called Heather Nentwig Photography, and I donate any profits earned from animal photography directly to the Humane Society to help keep the shelter and pets taken care of.

This is a slideshow of some recent animal photography in which donations were taken to the Humane Society.

Having dealt with depression in high school and overcoming that, I wholeheartedly believe it was my pets that helped me get through. Studies prove that animals help people stay healthy, and I think there are a lot of people out there who could benefit from owning and helping animals from the Humane Society. (visit BBC News article).

Growing up, I was always taken to the Humane Society to play with the animals there. Any time we had a family pet, and there were many of them, they were from the Humane Society. It has always been a part of my life and I decided it was time to give back now that my business is starting to thrive. It’s never the wrong time to start helping a cause you care about.

Animals don’t have the ability to speak in order to stand up for themselves in abusive situations like people do. I want my donations to help keep the Humane Society Education program running in order to help prevent mistreatment of animals. I feel like knowledge about proper treatment of animals is key for children. I was in an abusive relationship and I stuck up for myself, but these animals don’t have that power. In my own way, I feel that I am choosing to be the voice for them.

I created an ad on Vine that I can share with clients, and ultimately spread the word about this plan I am offering.                                                                                            

Having three cats and a dog of my own, I decided to stick to another method of helping the Humane Society than adopting animals, otherwise I’d have a house full of cats and dogs. This led to donating profits. People have taken the idea very well so far. People with pets are the perfect candidates to help out because they want to see the animals in the shelter taken care of like their own pets, and who doesn’t love cute animal pictures?

Natalie Lenio, a client whose wedding I photographed, spoke to me about her experience with this donation idea and how she felt about it.

I have a following on twitter where I keep people up to date on shoots, interact with the Humane Society, send and receive comments from customers, and post pictures that I take. This has been helpful to gain for clients and keep people informed on my interaction with the Humane Society.

So far, many of my clients are returning customers, though I hope that this idea catches on in the area and more people sign up, either through advertising or from other clients spreading this information. The Humane Society runs mainly on donations, and I’m hoping to be able to bring in as many as I can.

“Without your donations, we really couldn’t do what we do,” says Krista, a vet tech student who is working part time at the Humane Society.

The Kitchener-Waterloo Humane Society is one of the largest in Ontario, offering an exquisite educational program as well as space to hold more pets than most Humane Societies. It allows for 62 dogs and 165 cats to be held however it can hold 400 animals in an emergency situation.

We strongly believe that it is through a vibrant education program that we will be able to reduce the reasons why animals are mistreated, neglected and relinquished

(Visit KW Humane Society)

For more information on donating to the Humane Society through Heather Nentwig Photography, go to www.heathernentwig.com or follow posts on Twitter or Facebook. Let’s donate together!

